Publication Date


Advisor(s) - Committee Chair

Hugh Agee, William McMahon, Addie Hilliard

Degree Program

Department of English

Degree Type

Master of Arts


It is the intent of this thesis to describe and analyze the various aspects of the fall motif in five novels of William Golding: Lord of the Flies, The Inheritors, Pincher Martin, Free Fall, and The Spire The fall motif shall be defined, in part, to mean an allusion to a lapse of mankind from innocence or goodness into a state of innate sinfulness through willingly succumbing to temptation-- symbolic of the Biblical fall from the Garden of Eden.


Arts and Humanities | English Language and Literature | Literature in English, British Isles