image preview

Creation Date



Barren County was released in 1979 just a few years before Barren County native Curtis Burch left the band. This incarnation of New Grass Revival also included Sam Bush, John Cowan and Courtney Johnson. Kenny Smith, Kenny Malone and Bill Kenner also played on this album.

1. Dancin' With the Angels - Peter Rowan

2. In the Plan - Gene Clark, Doug Dillard, Bernie Leadon

3. How About You - Winchester

4. Crazy in the Night - Steve Brines, Sam Bush

5. Don't Look Back - Steve Brines, Sam Bush

6. Spring Peepers - Lucas

7. Souvenir Bottles - Steve Brines, Sam Bush, John Cowan

8. Goin' to the Fair - Steve Brines, Sam Bush

9. Lee Highway Blues - Traditional

Read more about New Grass Revival member Courtney Johnson in The Amplifier, "Courtney Johnson: Newgrass Pioneer," by Chris Houchens, August 2009 available in the Kentucky Library.


Western Kentucky University, Playing Our Song, Bluegrass, New Grass


Image Location