image preview

Creation Date



1778: Andrew McFadden established a station on the north side of the Barren River.

1796: Old Union Baptist Church established.

1797: Warren County officially becomes a county on March 1. First courthouse was constructed of logs.

1798: Bowling Green founded.

1804: Providence Knob Baptist Church established.

1812: Bowling Green incorporated.

1816: Warren County's second courthouse built of brick in present-day Fountain Square.

1818: Mariah Moore house built.

1818: First Baptist Church founded.

1819: First Presbyterian Church founded.

1821: Bank of the Commonwealth branch opened in Bowling Green.

1827: Mill constructed at Lost River Cave by James Rumsey Skiles.

1829: Smiths Grove post office established with Benjamin Ford as post master.

1830s: Barren River made navigable with a series of locks and dams.

1831: Green River Gazette began publication.

1832: Portage railroad completed.

1834: Present First Presbyterian Church constructed.

1837: Quigley-Younglove Building constructed.

1838: Louisville and Nashville turnpike completed to Bowling Green.

1843: Woodburn post office established at Mason's Inn.

1844: Episcopal Church organized in Bowling Green.

1845: Christian Church organized in Bowling Green.

1845: Present Mt. Olivet Cumberland Presbyterian Church built.

1845: Green River Union Meeting House built.

1847: Morehead House constructed.

1854: Park City Daily News roots begin.

1859: Louisville & Nashville Railroad completed in Warren County.

1859: St. Joseph's Catholic Church established.

1860: Bristow post office established with Zachariah G. Taylor as post master.

1860: Oakland post office established with William Radford as post master.

1861: Bowling Green occupied by Confederate troops from September 18, 1861, to February 14, 1862.

1861: Bowling Green chosen as the Confederate capital of Kentucky.

1862: Cedar Bluff College established.

1862: St. Columba's Academy established.

1864: Henry Hardin Cherry born.

1866: Woodburn incorporated.

1866: Odeon Hall (Opera House) completed.

1866: Rockfield post office established.

1868: Waterworks and reservoir constructed.

1869: Present courthouse built, D. J. Williams architect.

1871: Smiths Grove incorporated.

1871: Rich Pond incorporated.

1872: County Poor Farm moved from the Barren River to Woodburn.

1872: Richardsville post office established with Granville E. Speck as post master.

1872: Original limestone fountain dedicated and Fountain Square Park laid out.

1872: Riverview at Hobson Grove completed.

1875: Rockland (Hadley) post office established with Commodore P. Burchfield as post master.

1876: Confederate Monument dedicated in Fairview Cemetery.

1877: Ogden College established.

1880: Duncan Hines born.

1881: Second fountain dedicated in Fountain Square Park.

1882: Bowling Green public schools opened.

1883: Alvaton post office established.

1883: State Board of Health located in Bowling Green; moved to Louisville in 1913.

1884: Southern Normal School moved from Glasgow to Bowling Green.

1888: Riverside post office established with John A. Simmons as post master.

1889: Potter College established.

1890: Scott Tobacco Company founded.

1892: Drakes (White's Chapel) post office established with John W. Goodrum as post master.

1894: Present State Street Methodist Church constructed, Ruben Hunt architect.

1898: Electric trolley replaced mule-drawn cars in Bowling Green.

1898: Potter Opera House burns.

1901: Potter Bible College established.

1902: Bowling Green Academy established, incorporated in 1904.

1902: Browning post office established (closed 1906).

1906: Western Kentucky State Normal School (WKU) established as a state institution.

1907: Aunt Jane of Kentucky published.

1907: Present City Hall built, Brinton B. Davis architect.

1911: WKU moves from downtown to the top of College Hill.

1913: First Baptist Church built, Creedmore Fleenor architect (burned 1992).

1913: Present Federal Building constructed.

1920: Steamboat Bowling Green sunk.

1925: Present Louisville & Nashville Train Depot completed.

1926: City-County Hospital opened.

1936: Duncan Hines' Adventures in Good Eating published.

1937: H. H. Cherry statue by Lorado Taft unveiled.

1939: Old jail constructed, James Ingram architect.

1939: Kentucky Building dedicated.

1940: Union Underwear plant completed.

1950s: Hilltoppers music group make Bowling Green and Western famous.

1966: Plum Springs incorporated.

1966: WKU attains university status.


Roads, Rails & Rivers, Maps, Warren County, Kentucky


Image Location